Denise I. Griffiths CPAM Scholarship

Introduction | Guidelines | Application | Prior Recipients | Donate to the CPAM Scholarship

Established in 1983, the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching annually recognize outstanding classroom teachers for their achievements in the profession. The Council of Presidential Awardees in Mathematics, Inc. (CPAM) has established a scholarship program for high school seniors who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in mathematics and who intend to pursue a course of study to prepare to teach mathematics at the elementary or secondary school level. By establishing this scholarship program, CPAM demonstrates its commitment to nurturing the next generation of excellent mathematics teachers. (Prior Scholarship Recipients)

Procedures and Criteria
Each scholarship will grant the recipient $2000 for the first year of undergraduate study. The scholarship may be renewed for each of three succeeding years providing the recipient maintains a good academic record and continues to pursue a program which leads to teacher certification with specialization in mathematics.

Applicants for the scholarship must be nominated by a Presidential Awardee who is a CPAM member. The nominee must be a student or former student of the Awardee, a student with whom the Awardee has worked closely in an extracurricular capacity. In addition, there has been a change in those who can be nominated for the CPAM scholarship. Those who can be nominated now include any family member of a CPAM member which means children, grand-children, step-children and basically any relative. Each year an Awardee may nominate, at most, one student. Each year an Awardee may nominate, at most, one student.

Each nominee will be required to submit the following to the CPAM Scholarship Selection Committee: The selection of the scholarship recipient will be based on the following criteria: Applications should be sent by US PRIORITY MAIL and must be postmarked
by MARCH 1, 2021.
Return to: Kris A Warloe, Chairperson of Denise I. Griffiths CPAM Scholarship Committee
1260 NW Lewisburg Ave,. Corvallis, Oregon 97330

All applicants will be informed of the name of the scholarship recipient by May 1, 2021

An application form was included with the December issue of CPAM's newsletter or you may click here for a Word format or PDF format.
Application on the web for viewing required information.

Ways to Donate

Make a Donation to the CPAM Denise I. Griffiths Scholarship Fund
Either send a check to the Treasurer: Natalie Jakucyn
3950 W. Bryn Mawr Ave. Unit 202
Chicago, IL 60659
or by PayPal